TeachingWs15BasicMathTools

Chair for Computer Aided Medical Procedures & Augmented Reality
Lehrstuhl für Informatikanwendungen in der Medizin & Augmented Reality

Basic Mathematical Tools for Imaging and Visualization - IN2124

Administrative Info

Lecture: Dr. Tobias Lasser

Exercises: Oliver Zettinig, Nicola Rieke


IN2124: 2+2 SWS, 5 ECTS

The lecture is given in English.

Contact

Time & Location

Lecture and exercise:

  • Monday, 16:15 - 17:45, room MI HS 2
  • Thursday, 16:00 - 17:30, room MI HS 2

Exam:

  • Thursday, 11/02/2016, 14:30 - 16:00, MI Hörsaal 1
    • Duration: 90 minutes
    • Allowed material: none
    • Exam inspection: Wednesday, 24/02/2016, 10:00 in MI 03.13.061

Repeat exam:

  • Thursday, 31/03/2016, 14:30 - 16:00, Interims Hörsaal 2
    • Duration: 90 minutes
    • Allowed material: none
    • Exam inspection: Friday, 15/04/2016, 14:00 in MI 03.13.061 ONLY after registering by email!

Site Content

Announcements

  • The final list for the grade bonus of 0.3 is available here.

Overview

For the development, but also for the application of many image processing techniques and computer vision algorithms, a deep mathematical understanding is of fundamental importance. This lecture aims to provide interested students with a solid mathematical basis for imaging and visualization applications.

Script

The script to the lecture is now available (status: 25/01/2016):

Course Schedule

Week Room Type Lecturer Topic Materials Solutions
Mon Oct. 12, 2015 MI HS 2     no lecture    
Thu Oct. 15, 2015 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Introduction and Overview 01Administrative.pdf  
Mon Oct. 19, 2015 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Linear Algebra 02Script.pdf, 02LinearAlgebra.pdf  
Thu Oct. 22, 2015 MI HS 2 E Oliver Zettinig, Nicola Rieke    Exercise 1,  denoising.zip  Solution 1,  denoising_solution.zip
Mon Oct. 26, 2015 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Linear Algebra 03Script.pdf, 03LinearAlgebra.pdf  
Thu Oct. 29, 2015 MI HS 2 E Nicola Rieke   Exercise 2, art.zip, segmentation.zip Solution 2, art_solution.zip, segmentation_solution.zip
Mon Nov. 2, 2015 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Linear Algebra 04Script.pdf, 04LinearAlgebra.pdf  
Thu Nov. 5, 2015 MI HS 2 E Oliver Zettinig    Exercise 3,  sinogram.zip Solution 3, decomp_lin_regr.zip, Additional Material LUP
Mon Nov. 9, 2015 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Linear Algebra 05Script.pdf, 05LinearAlgebra.pdf  
Thu Nov. 12, 2015 MI HS 2 E Oliver Zettinig    Exercise 4,  eigenfaces.zip,  recon-systems.zip Solution 4, pca_svd.zip
Mon Nov. 16, 2015 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Analysis 06Script.pdf, 06Analysis.pdf  
Thu Nov. 19, 2015 MI HS 2 E Nicola Rieke    Exercise 5 Solution 5, Matlab05.zip
Mon Nov. 23, 2015 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Analysis 07Script.pdf, 07Analysis.pdf  
Thu Nov. 26, 2015 MI HS 2 E Nicola Rieke    Exercise 6 Solution 6, Matlab06.zip
Mon Nov. 30, 2015       no lecture    
Thu Dec. 3, 2015       no lecture (Dies academicus)    
Mon Dec. 7, 2015 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Optimization 08Script.pdf, 08Analysis.pdf  
Thu Dec. 10, 2015 MI HS 2 E Oliver Zettinig    Exercise 7,  div_grad.zip Solution 7, diffusion_filt.zip
Mon Dec. 14, 2015 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Optimization 09Script.pdf, 09Optimization.pdf  
Thu Dec. 17, 2015 MI HS 2 E Oliver Zettinig    Exercise 8,  tracking1.zip Solution 8, tracking1_sl.zip
Mon Dec. 21, 2015 MI HS 2     no lecture (Christmas)    
Thu Jan. 7, 2016 MI HS 2     no lecture (Christmas)    
Mon Jan. 11, 2016 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Optimization 10Script.pdf, 10Optimization.pdf  
Thu Jan. 14, 2016 MI HS 2 E Nicola Rieke    Exercise 9 Solution 9
Mon Jan. 18, 2016 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Probability Theory 11Script.pdf, 11ProbabilityTheory.pdf  
Thu Jan. 21, 2016 MI HS 2 E Nicola Rieke    Exercise 10 Solution 10
Mon Jan. 25, 2016 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Probability Theory 12Script.pdf, 12ProbabilityTheory.pdf  
Thu Jan. 28, 2016 MI HS 2 E Oliver Zettinig    Exercise 11 Solution 11
Mon Feb. 1, 2016 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Probability Theory 13Script.pdf, 13ProbabilityTheory.pdf  
Thu Feb. 4, 2016 MI HS 2 E Oliver Zettinig    Exercise 12 Solution 12, mlem_sl.zip

Literature

MATLAB

Wolfram Alpha

  • For quickly calculating, plotting, or learning something you might want to have a look at Wolfram Alpha.

Linear Algebra

  • Yousef Saad, Iterative Methods for Sparse Linear Systems, SIAM (You can download the book for free!)
  • Gilbert Strang, Introduction to Linear Algebra, Wellesley-Cambridge Press (Available in the library! Check out his video-lectures on youtube!)
  • Lloyd N. Trefethen and David Bau, Numerical Linear Algebra, SIAM (Available in the library!)

Analysis

  • Walter Rudin, Real and Complex Analysis, McGraw-Hill (Available in the library!)

Optimization

Probability Theory

  • Heinz Bauer, Measure and Integration Theory, deGruyter (Available in the library!)
  • Sheldon Ross, Introduction to probability and statistics for engineers and scientists, Elsevier (Available in the library!)




TeachingForm
Title: Basic Mathematical Tools for Imaging and Visualization
Professor: Dr. Tobias Lasser
Tutors: Oliver Zettinig, Nicola Rieke
Type: Lecture
Information: 2 + 2 SWS, 5 ECTS Credits (IN2124)
Term: 2015WiSe
Abstract: For the development, but also for the application of many image processing techniques and computer vision algorithms, a deep mathematical understanding is of fundamental importance. This lecture aims to provide interested students with a solid mathematical basis for imaging and visualization applications.


Edit | Attach | Refresh | Diffs | More | Revision r1.55 - 01 Apr 2016 - 09:05 - TobiasLasser

Lehrstuhl für Computer Aided Medical Procedures & Augmented Reality    rss.gif