TeachingWs16BasicMathTools

Chair for Computer Aided Medical Procedures & Augmented Reality
Lehrstuhl für Informatikanwendungen in der Medizin & Augmented Reality

Basic Mathematical Tools for Imaging and Visualization - IN2124

Administrative Info

Lecture: Dr. Tobias Lasser

Exercises: Nicola Rieke, Anca Stefanoiu


IN2124: 2+2 SWS, 5 ECTS

The lecture is given in English.

Contact

Time & Location

Lecture and exercise:

  • Wednesday, 12:05 - 13:35, room MI HS 2
  • Thursday, 16:00 - 18:00, room MI HS 2

Exam:

  • Wednesday, March 1, 2017, 13:30 - 15:00, Interims Hörsaal 1 and 2
    • Duration: 90 minutes
    • Allowed material: none
    • Exam inspection: Wednesday, April 5, 2017, 14:00 in MI 03.13.010 (registration by email required until April 3, 2017, 11:59!)

Repeat exam:

  • Wednesday, April 19, 2017, 10:30 - 12:00, MI Hörsaal 1
    • Duration: 90 minutes
    • Allowed material: none
    • Exam inspection: Wednesday, May 17, 2017, 09:30 in MI 03.13.008

Site Content

Announcements

  • The list of people receiving the grade bonus is available: bonus.pdf. Please check if this sounds correct to you, and contact us if not (updated: Feb. 1, 2017).

Overview

For the development, but also for the application of many image processing techniques and computer vision algorithms, a deep mathematical understanding is of fundamental importance. This lecture aims to provide interested students with a solid mathematical basis for imaging and visualization applications.

Course Schedule

Date Room Type Lecturer Topic Materials Solutions
Wed Oct. 19, 2016 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Introduction and Overview 01Administrative.pdf 01ListOfSymbols.pdf
Thu Oct. 20, 2016 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Linear Algebra 02Script.pdf (fixed, Oct. 26), 02LinearAlgebra.pdf  
Wed Oct. 26, 2016 MI HS 2 E Nicola Rieke, Anca Stefanoiu    Exercise 1,  denoising.zip  Solution 1
Assignment4_plots,
 denoising_solution.zip
Thu Oct. 27, 2016 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Linear Algebra 03Script.pdf (fixed, Nov. 14), 03LinearAlgebra.pdf  
Wed Nov. 2, 2016 MI HS 2 E Anca Stefanoiu    Exercise 2,  ART.zip  Solution 2
ART_tutorial,
 art_solution.zip
Thu Nov. 3, 2016 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Linear Algebra 04Script.pdf (fixed, Nov. 3), 04LinearAlgebra.pdf  
Wed Nov. 9, 2016 MI HS 2 E Anca Stefanoiu    Exercise 3,  segmentation.zip  Solution 3,
 segmentation_solution.zip,
 ludecomposition.zip,
 qrleastsquares.zip
Thu Nov. 10, 2016 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Linear Algebra 05Script.pdf (fixed, Nov. 10), 05LinearAlgebra.pdf  
Wed Nov. 16, 2016 MI HS 2 E Nicola Rieke    Exercise 4,  eigenfaces.zip  Solution 4,
 Eigenfaces_and_ImageCompression_solution.zip
Thu Nov. 17, 2016 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Analysis 06Script.pdf (fixed, Nov. 24), 06Analysis.pdf  
Wed Nov. 23, 2016 MI HS 2 E Nicola Rieke    Exercise 5  Solution 5,
 diffusion_fitering_solution.zip
Thu Nov. 24, 2016 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Analysis 07Script.pdf (fixed, Nov. 24), 07Analysis.pdf  
Wed Nov. 30, 2016 MI HS 2 E Nicola Rieke    Exercise 6  Solution 6,
 convolution_solution.zip,
 edgeDetection_solution.zip
Thu Dec. 1, 2016 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Optimization 08Script.pdf (fixed, Dec.1), 08Optimization.pdf  
Wed Dec. 7, 2016 MI HS 2     no lecture (Dies academicus)    
Thu Dec. 8, 2016 MI HS 2     no lecture    
Wed Dec. 14, 2016 MI HS 2 E Nicola Rieke    Exercise 7, div_and_grad.zip  Solution 7,
 diffusion_filt2_solution.zip
Thu Dec. 15, 2016 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Optimization 09Script.pdf, 09Optimization.pdf  
Wed Dec. 21, 2016 MI HS 2 E Nicola Rieke    Exercise 8, tracking1.zip  Solution 8,
 tracking1_solution.zip
Thu Dec. 22, 2016 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Optimization 10Script.pdf (fixed, Dec. 22), 10Optimization.pdf  
Wed Jan. 11, 2017 MI HS 2 E Anca Stefanoiu    Exercise 9  Solution 9,
 tracking2_solution.zip
Thu Jan. 12, 2017 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Probability Theory 11Script.pdf (fixed, Jan. 12), 11ProbabilityTheory.pdf  
Wed Jan. 18, 2017 MI HS 2 E Anca Stefanoiu    Exercise 10 (fixed, Jan. 18)  Solution 10
Thu Jan. 19, 2017 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Probability Theory 12Script.pdf (fixed, Jan. 19), 12ProbabilityTheory.pdf  
Wed Jan. 25, 2017 MI HS 2 E Nicola Rieke    Exercise 11  Solution 11
Thu Jan. 26, 2017 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Probability Theory 13Script.pdf, 13ProbabilityTheory.pdf  
Wed Feb. 1, 2017 MI HS 2 E Anca Stefanoiu    Exercise 12  Solution 12,
 mlem_solution.zip
Thu Feb. 2, 2017 MI HS 2 L Tobias Lasser Application Examples    
Wed Feb. 8, 2017 MI HS 2 E all Question & Answer session    
Thu Feb. 9, 2017 MI HS 2     no lecture    

Literature

MATLAB

Wolfram Alpha

  • For quickly calculating, plotting, or learning something you might want to have a look at Wolfram Alpha.

Linear Algebra

  • Yousef Saad, Iterative Methods for Sparse Linear Systems, SIAM (You can download the book for free!)
  • Gilbert Strang, Introduction to Linear Algebra, Wellesley-Cambridge Press (Available in the library! Check out his video-lectures on youtube!)
  • Lloyd N. Trefethen and David Bau, Numerical Linear Algebra, SIAM (Available in the library!)

Analysis

  • Walter Rudin, Real and Complex Analysis, McGraw-Hill (Available in the library!)

Optimization

Probability Theory

  • Heinz Bauer, Measure and Integration Theory, deGruyter (Available in the library!)
  • Sheldon Ross, Introduction to probability and statistics for engineers and scientists, Elsevier (Available in the library!)




TeachingForm
Title: Basic Mathematical Tools for Imaging and Visualization
Professor: Tobias Lasser
Tutors: Nicola Rieke, Anca Stefanoiu
Type: Lecture
Information: 2 + 2 SWS, 5 ECTS Credits (IN2124)
Term: 2016WiSe
Abstract: For the development, but also for the application of many image processing techniques and computer vision algorithms, a deep mathematical understanding is of fundamental importance. This lecture aims to provide interested students with a solid mathematical basis for imaging and visualization applications.


Edit | Attach | Refresh | Diffs | More | Revision r1.61 - 10 May 2017 - 10:27 - TobiasLasser

Lehrstuhl für Computer Aided Medical Procedures & Augmented Reality    rss.gif