TeachingWs19CAMPLecture

Chair for Computer Aided Medical Procedures & Augmented Reality
Lehrstuhl für Informatikanwendungen in der Medizin & Augmented Reality

Computer Aided Medical Procedures I

Administrative Information

Responsible for Module: Prof. Nassir Navab
Organization: Dr. Seong Tae Kim, Dr. Ulrich Eck, and Dr. Thomas Wendler

Time

Tuesdays at 2:15pm - 4:00pm, in MI Hörsaal 2 Thursday at 2:00pm - 4:00pm, in MI Hörsaal 2

Overview

Computer science is playing an important, increasing role in medical practices. Medical imaging companies are no more asked by physicians to only produce images of anatomy. Instead, they are asked to design software and hardware systems to provide complex computer-aided solutions for diagnosis, intervention and therapy. There are more and more opportunities for computer science graduates to contribute to the development and deployment of medical solutions. Within the operating rooms, there is an increasing need for the integration and visualization of heterogeneous data acquired by numerous sensors.

This course on computer aided medical procedures (CAMP I) exposes the students to the challenges of building the operating rooms of the future. The main focus of the course is in imaging technologies especially intra-operative imaging as well as the visualization of this data. Techniques like segmentation and registration will be explained in various classes. CAMP I will be continued in the summer semester with the lecture CAMP II which focusses an advanced concepts such as ultrasound imaging, machine learning, etc.

Course Schedule

Date Time Room Type Lecturer Material
Thu. 17/10/2019 14:00 - 16:00 MI HS2 Lecture - Introduction & Opening Dr. Seong Tae Kim  
Tue. 22/10/2019 14:15 - 16:00 MI HS2 Lecture - Image transformation Dr. Ulrich Eck  
Thu. 24/10/2019 14:00 - 16:00 MI HS2 Exercise - Image transformation Alexander Winkler  
Tue. 29/10/2019 14:15 - 16:00 MI HS2 Lecture - A brief History of Radiology Prof. Nassir Navab  
Thu. 31/10/2019 14:00 - 16:00 MI HS2 Lecture - Computed tomography 1/2 Dr. Wolfgang Wein  
Tue. 5/11/2019 14:15- 16:00 MI HS2 Lecture - Computed tomography 2/2 Dr. Wolfgang Wein  
Thu. 7/11/2019 14:00 - 16:00 MI HS2 Lecture - Basics of Image Filtering Dr. Seong Tae Kim  
Tue. 12/11/2019 14:15 - 16:00 MI HS2 Exercise - Basic image filtering Roger Soberanis  
Thu. 14/11/2019 14:00 - 16:00 MI HS2 Lecture - Advanced Image Filtering and Applications Sai Gokul Hariharan  
Tue. 19/11/2019 14:15 - 16:00 MI HS2 Lecture - Basics Image Segmentation Dr. Seong Tae Kim  
Thu. 21/11/2019 14:00 - 16:00 MI HS2 Exercise - Basics Image Segmentation Roger Soberanis  
Tue. 26/11/2019 15:00 - 18:00 NARVIS NARVIS Lab Visit Dr. Ulrich Eck  
Thu. 28/11/2019 14:00 - 16:00 MI HS2 Lecture - Advances in Image Segmentation Hasan Sarhan  
Tue. 3/12/2019 14:15 - 16:00 MI HS2 Lecture - Feature-Based Registration Prof. Nassir Navab  
Thu. 5/12/2019 14:00 - 16:00 MI HS2 Exercise - Feature-Based Registration Matthias Grimm  
Tue. 10/12/2019 14:15 - 16:00 MI HS2 Lecture - Magnetic resonance imaging 1/2 Dr. Stephan Nekolla  
Thu. 12/12/2019 14:00 - 16:00 MI HS2 Lecture - Magnetic resonance imaging 2/2 Dr. Stephan Nekolla  
Tue. 17/12/2019 14:15 - 16:00 MI HS2 Lecture - X-ray applications for breast imaging Dr. Seong Tae Kim  
Thu. 19/12/2019 14:00 - 16:00 MI HS1 Mid-term exam Dr. Seong Tae Kim, Dr. Ulrich Eck  
Tue. 7/1/2020 14:15 - 16:00 MI HS2 Lecture - Ultrasound Imaging    
Thu. 9/1/2020 14:00 - 16:00 MI HS2 Lecture - Ultrasound Imaging    
Tue. 14/1/2020 14:15 - 16:00 MI HS2 Exercise - Ultrasound Imaging    
Thu. 16/1/2020 14:00 - 16:00 MI HS2 Lecture - Intensity-Based Image Registration Prof. Nassir Navab  
Tue. 21/1/2020 14:15 - 16:00 MI HS2 Exercise - Intensity-Based Image Registration Javier Esteban  
Thu. 23/1/2020 14:00 - 16:00 MI HS2 Lecture - Registration for image-guided medical interventions Matthias Grimm  
Tue. 28/1/2020 14:15 - 16:00 MI HS2 Lecture - Nuclear Imaging (1/2) Dr. Thomas Wendler  
Thu. 30/1/2020 14:00 - 16:00 MI HS2 Lecture - Nuclear Imaging (2/2) Dr. Thomas Wendler  
Tue. 4/2/2020 14:15 - 16:00 MI HS2 Optical Imaging    
Thu. 6/2/2020 14:00 - 16:00 MI HS2      
      Final Exam Dr. Seong Tae Kim, Dr. Ulrich Eck  

Exercises

All programming exercises will be conducted in python 3. More specifically, we will rely on the ANACONDA distribution. In addition to this, we recommend you to install PyCharm as IDE.

Literature

[1] Numpy for Matlab users

TeachingForm
Title: Computer Aided Medical Procedures I
Professor: Prof. Nassir Navab, Dr. Seong Tae Kim,Dr. Ulrich Eck, Dr. Thomas Wendler
Tutors:  
Type: Lecture
Information: IN2021, 2SWS lecture, 2SWS exercise (6 ECTS)
Term: 2019WiSe
Abstract:  


Edit | Attach | Refresh | Diffs | More | Revision r1.5 - 10 Sep 2019 - 13:15 - SeongTaeKim

Lehrstuhl für Computer Aided Medical Procedures & Augmented Reality    rss.gif